south africa

“The Bright Night” Project

October 2015

In October 2015, Johannesburg based creative couple Leigh-Anne and Ross Drakes teamed up with Little Sun in South Africa. Together with Susanne Ewenstein from Little Sun, they created the “The Bright Night Project,” an exhibition that showcased the work of 23 of South Africa’s most talented photographers and illustrators. The exhibition was staged entirely in the dark, lit only by Little Sun solar lamps, creating a unique and intimate gallery experience. Selected by Leigh-Anne Drakes, the artists featured were commissioned to create an individual artwork in response to the broad theme of ‘light’.

The Bright Night Project was entirely crowdfunded. With a witty, personal and smart crowdfunding campaign on Indiegogo, Leigh-Anne and Ross won not only the support of the local creative scene (who purchased tickets to the show by supporting to the campaign), but mobilised art lovers and Little Sun friends from around the world to support the project.

The exhibition opened on the 15th of October at Johannesburg’s Transvaal Post Office, on one of those first fine spring evenings, after the sun had set and the night’s darkness had set in. For the opening night, the location was completely in the dark, and every guest was handed a Little Sun solar lamp to light their way and view the artworks. The atmosphere that night was simply amazing, seeing so many of Johannesburg’s creatives and art lovers come together to celebrate this project and the artists’ works.

With The Bright Night Project, Leigh-Anne and Ross Drakes gave 23 talented South African artists a platform at the level they deserve, helped raise awareness about Little Sun in South Africa and our mission to connect the world through sharing light. As if that wasn’t enough, the project also shared a little light for others, as all the Little Suns used for lighting the exhibition were donated to Mophela Primary School in Hammarsdale, a rural part of KwaZulu Natal in South Africa that is challenged by poor electricity supply.

A big shout out goes to all the backers of the project. Without you, the project would not have been possible. We also thank Kelly McGillivray from theSquad, for ensuring the exhibition ran so smoothly and to Ross Maxwell and Lingo Rodrigues for documenting the event so beautifully. A huge thank you also goes out to the amazing Casey Powell, Nozipho (Nozzy) Zungu for organizing a fun donation event at Mophela Primary and to Petra Tovrloza for taking the most beautiful photos of the donation!

 

Indiegogo: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-bright-night-

project/x/11567121#/story

 

Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/1629326153989880/

 

Twitter: @Brightnightjhb

Instagram: BrightNightProject

 

Participating Artists:

Jana Hamman: www.janaandkoos.com

Chris Saunders:http://chrissaunderssa.blogspot.com/,

Warren van Rensburg: http://warrenvanrensburg.viewbook.com/

Sindiso Nyoni: https://www.behance.net/guerillart

Louis Minnaar: www.louisminnaar.com

Paul Samuels: http://www.paulsamuels.co.za/

Mzwandile Buthelezi: http://www.sattadesign.co.za/

Bruce Mackay: https://www.behance.net/brucemackay

Ross Garrett: http://rossgarrett.net

Kent Andreasen: http://www.kentandreasen.com/

Slim: www.irskraal.com

Hanro Havenga: http://hanrohavenga.com/

Ian Marley: http://www.ianmarley.co.za/

Kristin-Lee Moolman: http://kristinleemoolman.tumblr.com/

Travys Owen: http://travysowen.tumblr.com/

Rohan Etsebeth: www.behance.net/Fanakalo

Karabo Poppy Moletsane: https://www.behance.net/karabo_poppy

Maaike Bakker: https://www.behance.net/Maaike_Bakker

Jean de Wet: ttp://www.jeandewet.com

Koos Groenewald: www.janaandkoos.com & groenewald-hamman.tumblr.com

Jesse-Leigh Elford and Juanel de la Forêt: http://www.elforddelaforet.com

Rikus Ferreira: https://www.behance.net/RikusFerreira

Jono Garrett: http://www.jonogarrett.com/

Link the Indiegogo video: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-bright-night-

project#/